Environmental Health

The Environmental Health Division of the Grand Traverse County Health Department protects the public health through programs established by the Public Health Code and local Sanitary Ordinances.

These programs focus on the prevention of disease and exposure to pollutants via education, inspection of facilities and enforcement of the referenced laws.  The prevention and abatement of environmental threats is accomplished through education of clients and the general population.
Environmental Health Logo

PROGRAMS AND SERVICES ARE LISTED IN THE MENU TO THE RIGHT.



2020 Office Closures:

  • Monday, January 20 - Martin Luther King Jr. Day - County Offices Closed to Public for Staff Training
  • Monday, February 17 - President's Day
  • Friday, April 10 - Good Friday
  • Monday, May 25 - Memorial Day
  • Friday, July 3 - Observance of Independence Day
  • Monday, September 7 - Labor Day
  • Wednesday, November 11 - Veteran's Day
  • Thursday and Friday, November 26 & 27 - Thanksgiving Holiday
  • Thursday and Friday, December 24 & 25 - Christmas Holiday
  • Thursday and Friday, December 31 and January 1- New Years Holiday
Wonder what to do with your old medication?
Learn where to easily recycle every day items at the "Take It Back" recycle program - click here!